Like lots of people, I own a good many books that I haven’t got around to reading yet. Most of them have a bookmark at about chapter 4, where I either got interrupted and never returned or felt guilty that I wasn’t studying and reluctantly put it back on the shelf. As a matter of principle, though, I think every book begun deserves to be finished. So, I’m putting myself under a book-purchasing embargo for the next 10 weeks while I finish 10 from my unfinished stack. Here’s my list:

1. The English Patient – Michael Ondaatje (Mostly because I feel like a literary failure for not finishing it yet!)

2. Seven Ways to Change the World: Reviving Faith and Politics – Jim Wallis

3. Don Quixote – Cervantes (because my favourite high school teacher told me not to forget to tilt at windmills…)

4. War Without End: Israelis, Palestinians and the Struggle for a Promised Land – Anton La Guardia

5. A Thousand Splendid Suns – Khaled Hosseini

6. Carpe Jugulum – Terry Pratchett

7. My Story – Peter Cosgrove (especially this one – it’s on loan!)

8. Eats, Shoots and Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation – Lynne Truss

 9. Mister God This Is Anna – Sydney Hopkins

10. Foreign Correspondence – Geraldine Brooks

Oh, how I’m looking forward to my days off…

Jess.

